Astrology – What is Horoscope? Zodiac Signs and Astrology Dates

What is astrology?

Astrology is an ancient art of dividing the fate and future of humans from indications given by the positions of the Sun, Moon, stars and other heavenly bodies. According to astrology, our lives are largely influenced by the positions and the movements of these celestial bodies.

Astrology began in ancient Babylon. People realized that the Sun was essential to man’s needs and they concluded that other celestial bodies must be too. They named the Sun, Moon, and the largest planets after their most important gods and the stars after lesser deities.

They believed that the movements of these celestial bodies represent the activities of their gods. By studying these movements, ancient Babylonians hoped to determine the will of the gods and to predict the future.

However, the principles of astrology were formalized by the ancient Greeks. They studied the heavenly bodies and scientifically defined the twelve signs of the Zodiac. Then, the names of Roman and Greek gods were assigned to the planets.

What is Horoscope?

Horoscope is basically a chart of the positions of the celestial bodies which is used to predict their influence on people’s lives.

Zodiac is a belt of the heavens in which the Sun, Moon, and planets appear as the Earth revolves around the Sun. The zodiac is divided into twelve sections, each of which contains a constellation (group of stars) for which the section has been named. Each of these constellations is called a zodiac sign.

Western Astrology

Modern Western astrology is very popular because it predicts the future and analyzes a person’s character. Astrology can also help us to understand the world around us and offers a unique experience and a sense of being special.

Western astrology is a form of divination for an exact moment, such as an individual’s birth, in which celestial bodies are said to have an influence. Astrology in Western culture is often reduced to sun sign astrology, which considers only the position of the Sun at the individual’s date of birth.

Contemporary Western astrology has twelve signs of the zodiac which represent twelve basic personality types. The zodiac signs are divided into four elements – Fire, Earth, Air, and Water. Water and Earth signs are considered feminine, while Fire and Air signs are considered masculine signs. The signs of the zodiac are also divided into three qualities – Cardinal, Mutable, and Fixed.

Fire Signs

Fire signs in astrology are Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. People born under these signs are very enthusiastic, impulsive, energetic, confident and passionate. Fire signs are also impatient, courageous, spontaneous, and very creative individuals. Those influenced by a Fire sign possess a tremendous zest for life.

The Fire signs are also the sexiest signs of the Zodiac. They are strong, fun and self-assured. At times they can be very selfish and egoistic.

Earth signs

The zodiac signs associated with Capricorn, Taurus, and Virgo. These signs are practical, reliable, grounded and extremely cautious. The Earth signs are conservative, sensual and realistic. They can operate at a slower pace than the other elements. They are always oriented toward what’s real, which makes them very productive. However, they can be really possessive and stubborn and have a tendency to become workaholics.

Air signs

The zodiac signs associated with the element of Air are Libra, Aquarius, and Gemini. Air signs are very curious, detached, social, unemotional, aloof and distant people. They are associated with Air, so they use their minds to make sense of their lives. They appear aloof, cool and detached. Sometimes, these people will try to talk their way feelings or analyze a situation instead of encountering its full emotional weight. Air signs are flexible and able to experience life through many prisms. They are curious and great storytellers and communicators.

Water signs

Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces are considered to be the Water signs. These people extremely emotional, moody, spiritual, intuitive, and compassionate. They are overly sensitive in relationships, but they have an ability to bring people together. They have the power to manipulate and drain the life force of people around them. Water signs have to work harder than the signs associated with other elements if they want to maintain their personal boundaries.

Horoscope Dates

Aries Mar. 21 – April 19
Taurus April 20 – May 20
Gemini May 21 – June 21
Cancer June 22 – July 22
Leo July 23 – Aug. 22
Virgo Aug. 23 – Sept. 22
Libra Sept. 23 – Oct. 23
Scorpio Oct. 24 – Nov. 21
Sagittarius Nov. 22 – Dec. 21
Capricorn Dec. 22 – Jan. 19
Aquarius Jan. 20 – Feb. 18
Pisces Feb. 19 – Mar. 20

Here you can find out all you need to know about the signs of the zodiac, their positive and negative characteristics, likes and dislikes, their lucky numbers and days, and their compatibility with the other zodiac signs.

What do you need to know about Taurus woman

Although the ruling planet Venus can easily represent this woman as a romantic dreamer, Taurus woman is very realistic and has both feet on the ground. She will carefully consider all the options before reaching a final conclusion. Taurus woman … Continue reading

What do you need to know about Aquarius

Aquarius is the eleventh sign of the Zodiac and his ruling planet is Uranus. The main feature of the Aquarius is that they are people who don’t fit into boxes. This sign is proud to be different from the others … Continue reading

What do you need to know about Leo

Leo is the fifth sign of the zodiac and is ruled by the Sun, which is the centre of our solar system. When the whole universe revolves around you, it’s really difficult to be humble. People born under the sign … Continue reading

What Do You Need To Know About Libra Woman

Libra is the seventh sign of the zodiac and is represented by the Scales, which means that they prefer justice and will avoid all types of conflicts. The element associated with this zodiac sign is Air, while the ruling planet … Continue reading